The 14 Best Albums and 44 Best Songs of 2006

Because 10 wouldn’t do it.

14 BEST ALBUMS OF 2006

– Clipse/We Got It For Cheap Vol. 2 – Believe the hype.
– Diddy/Press Play – Futuristic. Shimmering. Passionate. Brilliant. Crazy, huh? But that’s the kind of album a couple of million dollars will buy you.
– Young Dro/Best Thang Smokin’ – An absolute joy to listen to. This dude turns nouns into adjectives, cars into fruit, and colors into whirlwinds. Plus, on the album, he follows ‘Gangsta’ with ‘High Five.’
– Fat Joe/Me, Myself, & I – Judged solely on number of songs skipped per album (minus singles that I’m simply tired of hearing), this would be album of the year. While it’s got much more to do with the quality of the beats than the dimes Joey Crack drops (which he does), there is simply nothing to fast forward through here.
– Young Jeezy/The Inspiration – Awesome.
– The Game – Doctor’s Advocate – Also awesome. Could have been album of the year if not for the overabundance of West Coast, plink-plunk, Kurupt and Daz, Rick Rock-type bullshit.
– T.I./KING – …of the South? Yes.
– DJ Khaled/Listennnn… – The first major label ‘DJ’ album really worth a damn (with a small nod to Clue’s ‘The Professional’).
– Justin Timberlake/LoveSex/FutureSounds – Timbaland officially lost his mind this year. Besides this album, please see Nelly Furtado’s album, ‘3AM’ on Jeezy’s, and the ‘Get To Poppin’ (Get Down)’ remix with Rich Boy on Pitbull’s album.
– Mary J. Blige/The Breakthrough – This came out in late 2005, but I didn’t really start listening to it until 2006, so it’s on here. And it’s great. And I don’t even like R&B.
– Mobb Deep/Blood Money – Call them what you will, say they sold out, say the G-Unit tats are completely OC (I agree), say it ain’t like the old M-O-B-B, but this was a tough, tough album — if you can count on anything, you can count on G-Unit albums to have solid, expensive beatwork. I rock hard with this album. Plus it’s got ‘Pearly Gates’ on it.
– Clipse/Hell Hath No Fury – Sounds of crackness.
– Jay-Z/Kingdome Come – Not great, but its Jay-Z, so actually it is pretty great.
– Nas/Hip-Hop Is Dead – Kinda underwhelming and pessimistic (surprise, surprise!), but as above, it’s Nas, so it turns out to be pretty damn good.

45 BEST SONGS OF 2006

– Jody Breeze/24 Hours – Sublime. Quite possibly my favorite song this year. Find it on the Boyz N Da Hood Gangsta Grillz tape, ‘Welcome To My Block,’ or on a downstealing service near you.
– Prodigy/Mac 10 Handles – So awesome to see this dude back at it. Plus the video kinda scares me.
– Nelly Furtado f. Lil’ Wayne/Maneater (remix) – Holy shit.
– Christina Aggylarry/Ain’t No Other – What is going on in the world when the hottest Premier track in a given year is for a former Mouseketeer? Whatever, it’s hot.
– Lloyd f. Andre 3000 & Nas/You (remix) – With all due respect to the original featuring Lil’ Wayne, Mr. 3000 spits one of the only verses that most dudes can actually imagine happening in their own lives. I will definitely be leaving my credit card with a cute cashier at some point in the near future. Nas is also a pretty good rapper.
– Young Dro/Shoulder Lean – Really though, can you not smile when this comes on?
– Big Homey/Kingdom Come – Using a beat that languished on Just Blaze’s MySpace page for 6 months, Jay shut down the block. He’s still got it, always will.
– Swizz Beats/It’s Me, Bitches – The One-Man Band Man announces his return with this banger. This means a lot coming from me, a guy who used to detest his shit, way back when Ruff Ryders and two-note keyboard beats ruled the world.
– Jim Jones f. Cam’ron, Juelz Santana, & Max B./Pin The Tail On The Donkey – Dipset is still my favorite rap crew. Free Max B.
– Boyz N Da Hood f. Jim Jones & Max B./Superstar – Tough, real tough, probably gotta find it on a mixtape. Can’t figure out why this didn’t catch on more.
– Gwen Stefani/Wind It Up – I really like this song. Like, really, really like it.
– Mobb Deep f. 50 Cent/Pearly Gates – What more is there to say after a verse like the one Prodigy spit on the original version of this joint?
– Rashad Morgan f. T.I. & Young Dro/Tell ‘Em What They Wanna Hear – Again, can’t figure out why this didn’t pop. I like this kid Rashad Morgan.
– T.I. – What You Know/I’m Talking To You/Ride Wit’ Me/Get It/Pretty much his entire album
– Young Dro/Man In The Trunk (Jackie Chan Shit) – His IHOP blue Cutlass sound like it got a band in it.
– Clipse/Hello New World – Haunting.
– Clipse f. Young Jeezy/Pushin’ Weight
– Killer Mike/That’s Life – By far the trillest song of the year.
– Musiq/Buddy – Hot shit from the man with the crazy eye.
– Young Jeezy/3 AM – Literally out of this world. What rap probably sounds like on Mars.
– Tum Tum/Caprice Muzik – The latest in a long line of ‘The Whisper Song’ rip-offs, but highly entertaining nonetheless.
– UNK f. Outkast & Jim Jones/Walk It Out (remix) – Although I get geeked about any 3000 verse I can get these days, Big Boi undeniably murdered it.
– Rich Boy f. Polow Da Don/Throw Some D’s – Do I really need to explain why this is one of the greatest songs of the year? Or even one of the greatest songs ever?
– Pitbull f. Rich Boy/Get To Poppin’ (Get Down) (remix) – Make this the second Rich Boy song you get hooked on.
– Lil’ Wayne f. A Bunch Of Other Dudes Who Nobody Pays Attention To/Cannon (remix) – “Listen close, I got duct tape and rope/I’ll leave you missing like the fucking O’Bannons/One hand on my money, one hand on my buddy, that’s the AK-47, make his neighborhood love me/Bullets like birds, you can hear them bitches hummin’/Don’t let that bird shit, he got a weak stomach/I am sick/I don’t spit/I vomit/got it/One egg short of the omelet…”
– Nas AND Jay-Z/Black Republicans – I know it should really read ‘Nas f. Jay-Z’, but come on, this is a meeting of the minds.
– Beyonce f. Ghostface Killah/Irreplaceable (remix) – Yeah, I said it. It’s one of my favorite songs of the year. But, umm, only the version with Ghostface on it.
– Clipse/Stuntin’ Y’all – Not on the album, but realllllly should’ve been.
– Clipse f. Rosco P. Coldchain/Chinese New Year – So tough.
– Cam’ron/Weekend Girl – Vastly underheard and underrated. Should’ve been the song of the summer.
– Fergie/London Bridge – And I’ll throw in ‘Fergalicious’ while I’m at it.
– Young Dro f. Pharrell & T.I./Trap or Kill Ya’ Self – On Pharrell’s Gangsta Grillz. But I really just like the title.

– Dre f. Rick Ross/Chevy Ridin’ High
– Clipse/Mr. Me Too
– Jay-Z /44 Fours
– Obie Trice f. Kuniva, Cashis, Stat Quo, & Bobby Creekwater/Cry Now (remix)
– Outkast/Morris Brown
– Lil’ Wayne f. Robin Thicke/Shooter
– Yung Joc/Do Ya Bad
– DJ Khaled f. Paul Wall, Lil’ Wayne, & Rick Ross/Holla At Me Baby
– 50 Cent/Puppy Love
– Jay-Z/Dig A Hole
– Lloyd Banks/Make A Move
– Clipse/Keys Open Doors

2 responses to “The 14 Best Albums and 44 Best Songs of 2006

  1. Hi! I was surfing and found your blog post… nice! I love your blog. 🙂 Cheers! Sandra. R.

  2. Sign: gfndc Hello!!! muvcc and 3794danhvpnagh and 2139 : Hi! I was surfing and found your blog post! nice! I just came across your blog and wanted to say that Ive really enjoyed it.

Leave a Reply

